Standing on Solid Ground

Sometimes in this country it feels like the very foundations are going to crumble underneath us – and yet – they don’t.  A large part of the reason for that is the men and women of our military who serve our country to keep us safe and ensure our freedoms.  It’s easy to forget that there are countries that don’t have public parks, or allow people to drive through them freely. There are places that don’t have peaceful elections, education, or the freedom to worship if and how you choose.  Our military has defended us, secured us, and makes sure our freedom remains.  I have a great many friends and family members who are veterans, and I’m thankful to them for all the things that I am allowed to do because of the sacrifices and choices they make.

One fun way to honor veterans and support those serving now is through the Cup of Joe for a Joe program.  You can spend as little as $2.00 to give a free cup of coffee (with a message of appreciation) to a soldier overseas.  I’ve done this for years, and the thank you notes and stories I get back from the soldiers are always inspiring and humbling.   You can check them out at:  http://www.greenbeanscoffee.com/coj/index.php

~ by beaglezmom on November 10, 2011.

2 Responses to “Standing on Solid Ground”

  1. I love this post. And thank you for the link. What a worthy cause. Yes, this is a day we must honor our Veterans, but always keep them forefront in our prayers.

    • So true, snoring Dog. My dad fought in WWII, my uncle was a marine in Vietnam, and my partner was in the Navy Reserves — so I’ve been very luck y to be around military folks all my life. They deserve our recognition and support every day!

Leave a comment